07
Mar
09

How to mount a Ubuntu drive in Windows

This is another one of those “pay it forward” type posts. I spent the better part of an hour researching/installing/uninstalling/reg-editing and generally banging my head against a wall trying to get my girlfriend’s Ubuntu drive to show up as a readable drive in Windows XP so she could migrate her personal files over. It was hard enough to even find a good discussion of the problem, much less a list of solutions. Once I found a list, I tried every half-assed application on it, to no avail. Finally, on one forum thread, a user posted a link to a solution that actually works and is completely painless.

http://ext2fsd.sourceforge.net/

Go there. Download. Install. Use the Ext2 Volume Manager to assign a drive letter and then browse the drive in Windows Explorer. Couldn’t be much easier than that. Anyway, enjoy.

One more quick plug: The drive was attached to the XP computer via the Newertechnology USB 2.0 Universal Drive Adapter, which I’ve plugged previously elsewhere. It’s the best $30 guarantee against future frustration you’ll ever find. Get one.

3 Responses to “How to mount a Ubuntu drive in Windows”


  1. 1 steven thompson
    August 27, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    i tryed doing this everthing works fine except when i try to accses my ubuntu drive it says drive not formated would u like to formate now ? and i have all my shit on my ubuntu drive so i dont wanna format it:( any help thanks:)

  2. August 28, 2010 at 12:37 am

    It’s been a while since I did this, and I haven’t had to do it since i converted my girlfriend’s ubuntu machine to Windows. Sounds like the software isn’t installed properly. Make sure you have the Ext2 Volume Manager or another comparable product installed. It should be pretty easy after that.

    Get it here:
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/ext2fsd/files/
    Or search google for “ext2 volume manager” for discussions on the process.

  3. 3 steven thompson
    November 6, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    i can see my drive but it wont let me see my desktop files??? why is this and can it be fixed?


Leave a Reply

