15
Dec
09

Update on Qwest issue with HD streams via Xbox/Netflix

I had written previously about an issue I was having where I could not view HD movies through Netflix on the Xbox. Any time I initiated an HD stream, the internet in my whole house would disconnect. I did a bit of troubleshooting, and some Googling and found that it was most likely a Qwest issue with the router.  I contacted Qwest after being prompted to do so by one of their customer service people who crawls the internet looking for disgruntled customers. Within 24 hours I was contacted by a live person on the phone. A few days, and a few speed tests later I had a new modem and the HD stream problem was fixed.

I had also been having another annoying problem where my bandwidth was nowhere near the capacity that I was paying for. Nearly dial-up on a 7Mbps connection. This issue was not resolved by the new router. Again, I contacted Qwest and had a live technician on the phone the next morning. He ran some tests on his end and found that there was a problem at the central office that was sending a ton of errors down to my modem so that it was unable to sync at the appropriate speed. He moved me to a different switch and the problem is now solved.

I just wanted to post an update because I did a fair amount of bitching about Qwest in my initial blog post, and Qwest support really did a great job of handling my issues and winning back my loyalty as a customer. I work in the support field, so I know that providing this level of support is a lot easier said than done. And Qwest, if you’re still paying attention, don’t offshore your support. You’ve got great staff and they deserve to keep their jobs.

0 Responses to “Update on Qwest issue with HD streams via Xbox/Netflix”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

